Registration Districts of Ireland 1871


Registration Districts/Sub­districts of Ireland

Registration districts of 1871



Thompson’s 2009 Registration Districts PDF

Ireland Registration districts 1871 (1)



IRELAND Registration Districts of 1871 PDF



The Registration Districts were created in Ireland

All vital events in Ireland are registered in the Registration District where it took place.  A point of note, marriages, while an ancestor’s town of origin may be in one Registrar’s District, the local Catholic parish church, even though it might a short distance from his or her’s residence, might well be in a different Registrar’s District.  When searching for marriages, keep this in mind.

Ballina was reduced in size in 1841 and 1851: A portion formed the new Union of KILLALA another portion formed BELMULLET.
Btween 1881 and 1891 DONAGMORE was abolishedand merged into ROSCREA and ABBEYLEIX.
GORTIN was abolished and merged into IMAGH.
And NEWPORT was abolished and merged into WESTPORT.
Between 1891 and 1901 PARSONS TOWN was Renamed BIRR and GLIN was abolished
and merged into RATHKEALE and LISTOWEL
TULLA merged into SCARRIFF between 1901 and 1911.






the best resource to locate the Registrar’s Distict where a particular townland resides is the 1851 edition of The General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes and Baronies of Ireland.


Sean has been online since the internet started (it seems)